top of page



James Sykes Battye



The Friends of Battye Library (Inc.) was inaugurated on the 6 July 1981 to support the J S Battye Library of West Australian History and the State Archives (now known as the State Records Office of Western Australia).


Sir Paul Hasluck was the Friends of Battye Library's first President and since then many distinguished historians, researchers and philanthropists have accepted the role of President and Patron of the organisation.


Our aims are to assist with the acquisition, preservation and use of archival and documentary materials.


The Battye Library is located on the third floor of the Alexander Library Building, and the State Records Office is on the ground floor of the same building with entry through doors facing onto James Street.


Patron: ​Ms Margaret Medcalf OAM



Richard Offen - President

Jennie Carter - Vice President

Pamela Statham Drew - Secretary

Nick Drew - Treasurer

Cherie Strickland - Membership Secretary


Committee Members:

Dr Pamela Statham Drew - Immediate Past President

Shirley Babis; Lorraine Clarke; Steve Errington; Helen Mather (Events Co-ordinator)



Catherine Clark (CEO and State Librarian)

Damien Shepherd (State Archivist, State Records Office)

Kate Gregory (Battye Historian)

Newsletter Editor: Heather Campbell




Information -

Membership -

President -

Newsletter Editor -

bottom of page